<u>Appointments to Banking Review</u> Tribunal

The Government announced today (December 28) that the Chief Executive has reappointed Mr Eugene Fung Ting-sek, SC, as Chairperson of the Banking Review Tribunal, and appointed four persons as members of the Tribunal. All appointments will take effect for a term of three years from January 1, 2019.

Two incumbent members of the Tribunal, namely Mrs Dorothy Sit Kwan Yinping and Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak, are reappointed, while Ms Joan Ho Yuk-wai and Professor Tam Kar-yan are newly appointed as members of the Tribunal.

The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Lau, said, "I welcome the above appointments. I am confident that the appointees' expertise and experience will continue to contribute to the effective operation of the tribunal."

Mr Lau also expressed his gratitude to the outgoing members, Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung and Professor Japhet Sebastian Law, for their valuable contributions over the past years.

The Banking Review Tribunal was established under the Banking Ordinance to hear appeals against relevant decisions made by the Monetary Authority in relation to capital, liquidity and disclosure requirements that apply to authorized institutions.

The above appointments made under the Banking Ordinance were gazetted today.