<u>Appointments to Aviation Development</u> <u>and Three-runway System Advisory</u> <u>Committee</u>

The Government today (July 26) announced the appointment of eight new members and the re-appointment of 11 incumbent members to the Aviation Development and Three‑runway System Advisory Committee (ADTAC) for two years with effect from August 1, 2021.

The eight new members are Mr Aaron Chan Wing-kai, Dr Angus Cheung Himwah, Mr Herbert Chia Pun-kok, Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi, Professor Lo Hong-kam, Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying, Dr Derrick Pang Yat-bond, and Dr William Yu Yuen-ping.

The 11 re-appointed incumbent members are Mr Chan Chi-chiu, Ms Christina Chong Dong-ying, Ms Fung Sau-yim, Mr Alex Koo Pok-sing, Mr Samuel Lau Kin-pui, Mr Edward Liu, Dr Pang Yiu-kai, Mr Augustus Tang Kin-wing, Mr Wong Manhang, Mr Brian Wu Pak-hei, and Dr Frederick Yip Yeung-fai.

The Secretary of Transport and Housing, Mr Frank Chan Fan, said, "While the COVIDâ€'19 pandemic has brought about a significant impact on the global aviation industry, I am confident that the industry and air traffic will gradually recover after the pandemic. I look forward to the Advisory Committee's continued wise counsel on the development of the aviation industry in the coming term, which will witness the commissioning of the third runway of Hong Kong International Airport, a highlight of the Three-Runway System project that affirms Hong Kong's status as an international aviation hub.

"I would also like to thank the 11 outgoing members, namely Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi, Professor Edwin Cheng Tai-chiu, Ms Chiang Lai-yuen, Professor Michael Fung Ka-yiu, Mr Thomas Ho Kwok-kwan, Mr Edward Ho Man-tat, Dr Hung Wing-tat, Ms Julia Lau Man-kwan, Professor Joseph Lee Hun-wei, Mr Andrew Leung Chi-kwan, and Mr Brian David Li Man-bun, for their support and contributions to the work of the Advisory Committee during their tenure," Mr Chan added.

Members of the ADTAC come from various sectors including aviation, engineering, architecture, academics and research, business and finance, logistics and transport, tourism and hotels, environment, and legal.

The membership of the ADTAC with effect from August 1, 2021, is as follows:

Chairman

Secretary for Transport and Housing

Members

___-

Mr Chan Chi-chiu

Mr Aaron Chan Wing-kai

Dr Angus Cheung Him-wah

Mr Herbert Chia Pun-kok

Ms Christina Chong Dong-ying

Ms Fung Sau-yim

Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi

Mr Alex Koo Pok-sing

Mr Samuel Lau Kin-pui

Mr Edward Liu

Professor Lo Hong-kam

Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying

Dr Derrick Pang Yat-bond

Dr Pang Yiu-kai

Mr Augustus Tang Kin-wing

Mr Wong Man-hang

Mr Brian Wu Pak-hei

Dr Frederick Yip Yeung-fai

Dr William Yu Yuen-ping

Permanent Secretary for Transport and Housing (Transport) (ex-officio)

Chief Executive Officer, Airport Authority Hong Kong (ex-officio)

Executive Director, Hong Kong Trade Development Council (ex-officio)

Director-General of Civil Aviation (ex-officio)

Chaired by the Secretary of Transport and Housing, the ADTAC was established in 2015. A total of five meetings were held in the past two-year term, providing a platform for members to advise the Government on broad policy matters concerning the development of the aviation industry and the implementation of the Three-Runway System at Hong Kong International Airport.