<u>Appointments to Advisory Council on</u> <u>the Environment announced</u>

The Government today (December 28) announced that Mr Stanley Wong Yuenfai has been re-appointed as Chairman and Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee as Deputy Chairman of the Advisory Council on the Environment (ACE) for two years from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2020.

Eight new members are appointed to the ACE. They are Ms Carmen Chan Kamun, Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen, Miss Kong Wing-man, Mr Adam Koo Tze-cheung, Miss Lam Chung-yan, Dr Winnie Law Wai-yi, Dr Sung Yik-hei and Ms Christina Tang Pik-han.

The Secretary for the Environment, Mr Wong Kam-sing, said, "I warmly welcome Mr Wong and Professor Tam on being re-appointed as Chairman and Deputy Chairman of ACE and the appointment of the eight new members to the Council. I am looking forward to the continued support of the ACE on the development of environmental protection and conservation policies.

"I thank the outgoing members, namely Dr Billy Hau Chi-hang, Dr Hung Wing-tat, Mr Anthony Lock Kwok-on, Professor John Ng Cheuk-yee, Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum, Dr Eric Tsang Po-keung, Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak and Professor Jonathan Wong Woon-chung for their valuable advice and contributions to the ACE during their appointment period."

The ACE was set up to keep the state of the environment in Hong Kong under review and advise the Government, through the Secretary for the Environment, on appropriate measures which might be taken to combat pollution of all kinds, and to protect the environment.

The appointments, published in the Gazette today, will be effective from January 1, 2019.

The full membership of the new term of ACE is as follows:

Chairman: * Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai

Deputy Chairman: * Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee

Members:

- * Mr Cary Chan Wing-hong
- * Dr Michael Lau Wai-neng
- * Professor Lau Chi-pang
- * Ms Julia Lau Man-kwan
- * Professor Albert Lee
- * Mr Andrew Lee Chun-lai
- * Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee
- * Professor Irene Lo Man-chi

* Mr Ma Lee-tak * Mr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung * Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung * Professor Wong Sze-chun Ms Carmen Chan Ka-mun Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen Miss Kong Wing-man Mr Adam Koo Tze-cheung Miss Lam Chung-yan Dr Winnie Law Wai-yi Dr Sung Yik-hei Ms Christina Tang Pik-han

* Serving members