<u>Appointments to Advisory Council on</u> the Environment

The Government today (December 13) announced that Professor John Chai Yat-chiu has been reappointed as the Chairman and Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee as the Deputy Chairman of the Advisory Council on the Environment (ACE) for two years from January 1, 2025, to December 31, 2026.

Four new members have been appointed to the ACE. They are Mr Cheung Chiwah, Ms Grace Kwok May-han, Professor Qiu Jianwen and Mr Jonathan Wu Sheung-kai.

The Secretary for Environment and Ecology, Mr Tse Chin-wan, said, "I warmly welcome the reappointment of Professor Chai and Professor Leung as the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman respectively of the ACE as well as the appointment of the four new members to the Council. I am looking forward to the continued support of the ACE to the development of environmental protection and conservation policies.

"I thank the outgoing members, namely Ms Carmen Chan Ka-mun, Dr Sylvia Chan May-kuen, Ms Christina Tang Pik-han, Professor Dan Tsang Chiu-wa and Dr Wong Kwok-yan, for their valuable advice and contributions to the ACE in the past years."

The appointments are published in the Gazette today. Information on the composition and the work of the Council is available at: www.eeb.gov.hk/en/boards_committees/advisory_council/maincontent.html.

The full membership of the new term of the ACE is as follows:

Chairman:

* Professor John Chai Yat-chiu

Deputy Chairman:

* Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee

Members:

Mr Cheung Chi-wah

- * Ms Ada Fung Yin-suen
- * Mr Eric Ho King-fung
- * Ms Linda Ho Wai-ping
- * Mr Alex Kwan King-fai

Ms Grace Kwok May-han

- * Dr Theresa Kwong Fuk-ning
- * Professor Alexis Lau Kai-hon
- * Professor Dennis Leung Yiu-cheong
- * Mr Simon Ng Ka-wing
- * Mr Daryl Ng Win-kong

Professor Qiu Jianwen

- * Mr Albert Su Yau-on
- * Professor Wong Kam-bo

Mr Jonathan Wu Sheung-kai

- * Dr Raymond Yau Man-hung
- * Dr William Yu Yuen-ping
- * Serving members