<u>Appointments to Advisory Committee on</u> <u>Built Heritage Conservation announced</u>

The Government announced today (May 14) the re-appointment of the incumbent Chairman and 13 non-official members, as well as the appointment of five new non-official members to the Advisory Committee on Built Heritage Conservation (ACBHC) for a term of two years with effect from May 15, 2020.

The Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, said, "The ACBHC is an important advisor to the Government on built heritage conservation. Over the years, the committee has made valuable contributions on this front. The reappointment of Professor Lau Chi-pang as the Chairman and 13 non-official members will provide continuity and retain experience for the ACBHC, while the five new non-official members will bring in fresh ideas to the work of the committee. I look forward to continually working with the committee on issues relating to built heritage conservation in Hong Kong."

Mr Wong also expressed gratitude to the five outgoing non-official members for their dedicated service and contributions to the ACBHC.

The ACBHC was established in 2016 to advise the Government on the operation of the Built Heritage Conservation Fund. The committee assesses new applications and monitors existing projects under the Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme, monitors the operation of the Financial Assistance for Maintenance Scheme on Built Heritage, and advises on the two Funding Schemes on Public Engagement Projects and Thematic Research. The new term of the committee comprises members from different fields and professions including architecture, historical research, social enterprise, engineering, surveying, town planning, finance and business, as well as private practitioner of built heritage conservation and the art and cultural sector in the community.

The membership list of the ACBHC with effect from May 15, 2020, is set out below:

Chairman

Professor Lau Chi-pang

Non-official Members

Mr David Chak Wing-pong
Mr Calvin Chiu Kit-man
Mr Vincent Ho Kui-yip
Professor Ho Pui-yin
Ms Renee Hue Yi-yan
Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen
Ms Samantha Kong Wing-man
Mr Jeffrey Kwok Pak-wai

Dr Jane Lee Ching-yee
Mr Lee Tsz-leung
Mrs Miranda Leung Chan Che-ming
Ms Sharon Liu Chung-gay
Dr Eunice Mak Hoi-cheung
Ms Yanice Mak Wing-yan
Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak
Professor Billy So Kee-long
Ms Chloe Suen Yin-wah
Mr Plato Yip Kwong-to

Official Members

Commissioner for Heritage, Development Bureau Assistant Director of Architectural Services (Property Services) Assistant Director of Leisure and Cultural Services (Heritage and Museums)