<u>Appointments of new vice-chairman and</u> <u>members to the Independent Police</u> <u>Complaints Council</u>

The Government today (December 28) announced the re-appointment of two incumbent vice-chairmen and 13 members, and the appointment of one new vice-chairman and two members to the Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2019.

Mr Christopher Cheung Wah-fung and Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen have been reappointed as vice-chairmen, and Mr Frankie Yick Chi-ming has been appointed as a new vice-chairman. The re-appointed members are Dr Cheng Kam-chung, Mr Richard Ho Kam-wing, Mr Herman Hui Chung-shing, Mr Edgar Kwan Chi-ping, Ms Au Chor-kwan, Mr Chu Wing-yiu, Mr Douglas Lam Tak-yip, Miss Sylvia Lee Hiu-wah, Dr David Lee Ka-yan, Ms Melissa Kaye Pang, Ms Shalini Sujanani, Professor Wong Chi-sang and Mr Johnny Yu Wah-yung. The newly appointed members are Ms Jane Curzon Lo and Mr Lee Man-bun.

The appointments are made by the Chief Executive according to section 5 of the IPCC Ordinance (Cap 604). The appointment notice was published in the Government Gazette today.

"We are most grateful for the invaluable contributions of the IPCC in ensuring a fair, effective and transparent two-tier police complaints handling system in Hong Kong. We are also thankful for the contributions of the incumbent vice-chairman Mr Chan Kin-por and members Dr Vincent Simon Ho, Mr Arthur Luk Yee-shun and Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung who will leave the IPCC by the end of their terms on December 31, 2018. We believe that the IPCC will continue to discharge its statutory functions effectively and uphold the efficient operation of the police complaints handling system," the spokesman said.

The IPCC, established under the IPCC Ordinance, is an independent statutory body responsible for monitoring and reviewing the investigation of complaints against members of the Police Force. The IPCC Ordinance provides a statutory basis for the IPCC's role and power and the two-tier police complaints handling system. It also imposes a statutory duty on the Police to comply with the Council's requirements. The IPCC will have a chairman, three vice-chairmen and 23 non-official members in the new term.