Appointments of new Chairman and members to the Independent Police Complaints Council

The Government today (May 25) announced the appointment of Mr Anthony Francis Neoh, SC as Chairman of the Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC), and the appointments of Dr Anissa Chan Wong Lai-kuen and Mr Roland Wong Ka-yeung as well as the re-appointments of Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing and Mr Wilson Kwong Wing-tsuen as members of the IPCC.

The appointments are made by the Chief Executive according to section 5 of the IPCC Ordinance (Cap. 604) for a term of two years with effect from June 1, 2018 to May 31, 2020. The appointment notice was published in the Government Gazette today.

Mr Neoh is a Senior Counsel with extensive experience in public services. He has made remarkable contributions in many fields including developing Hong Kong's international arbitration services and regulatory standards for financial services. Mr Neoh will succeed the incumbent IPCC Chairman Mr Larry Kwok whose term of appointment will end on May 31, 2018.

"Mr Larry Kwok has been the Chairman of the IPCC since June 2014. We are grateful for his devotion in promoting the work of the IPCC to the public and contributions to the improvement of the operation of the IPCC, enhancing support for the IPCC Observers Scheme, and strengthening publicity through various channels," a Government spokesman said.

The IPCC, established under the IPCC Ordinance, is an independent statutory body responsible for monitoring and reviewing the investigation of complaints against members of the Police Force. The IPCC Ordinance provides a statutory basis for the IPCC's role and power and the two-tier police complaints handling system. It also imposes a statutory duty on the Police to comply with the Council's requirements. The IPCC comprises a Chairman, three Vice-chairmen and 24 non-official members.