<u>Appointments of HKICPA Council lay</u> <u>members</u>

The Government announced today (November 29) the reappointment of Ms Agnes Choi Heung-kwan and the appointment of Mr Edward Liu Yang as lay members of the Council of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA) for a term of two years from December 1, 2024, to November 30, 2026.

A spokesman for the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau (FSTB) said, "The accounting sector plays a pivotal role in Hong Kong's success as an international financial centre. We look forward to the contribution of Ms Choi and Mr Liu to the work of the HKICPA in furthering the development of the accounting profession."

The FSTB spokesman also expressed gratitude to the outgoing member, Ms Theresa Ng Choi-yuk, for her contributions to the HKICPA Council during her tenure.

The HKICPA is the statutory professional body of the accounting sector in Hong Kong. It is responsible for the registration of certified public accountants (CPAs) and various professional functions including examination and training of CPAs, as well as setting requirements for continuing professional development, professional ethics, accounting, auditing and assurance, etc.

The HKICPA Council is the governing body of the Institute. Under the Professional Accountants Ordinance (Cap. 50), the HKICPA Council comprises a maximum of 23 persons, including four lay members appointed by the Chief Executive. The power of the Chief Executive to make appointments to the Council has been delegated to the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury.