Appointments of chairperson and panel members to Resolvability Review Tribunal and Resolution Compensation Tribunal

The Chief Executive has appointed Mr Jonathan Chang Tien-yin, SC, as the chairperson of the Resolvability Review Tribunal (RRT) and the Resolution Compensation Tribunal (RCT) for a term from April 1, 2024, to March 31, 2027. The Chief Executive has also appointed 15 new members and reappointed two serving members to the panel of the RRT; and appointed 15 new members and reappointed three serving members to the panel of the RCT for a term from April 1, 2024, to March 31, 2026.

The list of members of the RRT and the RCT panels for the new term is as follows:

RRT

New appointees

Mr Anthony Cheung Chun-yue

Mr Paul Chow Koon-ving

Mr Rix Chung Kwok-fai

Mr Praveen Mohan Daswani

Professor Hui Kai-lung

Dr Jia Hongrui

Mr Gavin Lam Chi-wai

Mr Roy Leung Sze-kit

Ms Janet Li Tze-yan

Mr Mak Kwong-fai

Dr Annie Mok Yuet-ngo

Ms Fion Ng Siu-mui

Mr Tommy So Chung

Ms Peggy Tse Pui-kei

Ms Fonia Wong Yeung-fong

Reappointed members

Ms Sammy Koo Chi-sum

Mr Alexander Tang Hing-lam

RCT

New appointees

Dr Butt Yiu-yu Professor Alex Chan Wing-ho Ms Lorna Chen Xin

Mr Steve Chong Wai-ming

Ms Fang Xin

Ms Candy Fong Wai-ling

Mr Byron Khoo

Ms Sophia Lee Shuk-woon

Ms Jasmine Lee Shun-yi

Ms Orchis Li Tzy-lan

Ms Angie Li Yick-yee

Mr Kevin Liem Chi-kit

Mr Eugene Liu

Mr Wiley Pun Wang-fung

Ms Tiffany Wong Wing-sze

Reappointed members

Mr Eric Hui Kam-kwai

Mr Garth Brian Jones

Mr Jackson Woo Ka-biu

Welcoming the above appointments today (March 28), the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "The RRT and the RCT strengthen the appellate mechanism under the resolution regime and provide an effective safeguard to ensure that the relevant decisions made by the resolution authorities and independent valuer are reasonable and fair. We are confident that Mr Jonathan Chang Tien-yin, SC, with his expertise and extensive experience, will contribute to the effective operation of the two Tribunals. Members of the RRT and the RCT come from different professions and will provide wise counsel on the work of the two Tribunals with their expertise and diverse backgrounds."

Mr Hui also thanked the outgoing chairperson of the RRT and the RCT, Mr Anson Wong Man-kit, SC, as well as the outgoing members of the two Tribunals.

The RRT and the RCT are statutory tribunals established under the Financial Institutions (Resolution) Ordinance (Cap. 628) to hear appeals from persons aggrieved by the specified decisions made by the resolution authorities and independent valuer. The Monetary Authority, the Insurance Authority and the Securities and Futures Commission are the resolution authorities under the Ordinance and are vested with a range of powers to effect orderly resolution for maintaining the stability of the financial system of Hong Kong. An independent valuer decides whether any pre-resolution creditor or shareholder is eligible for a payment of compensation.