<u>Appointments of Chairperson and</u> <u>members to Veterinary Surgeons Board</u> <u>of Hong Kong</u>

The Government announced today (September 29) the appointment of Professor Charles Ng Wang-wai as the new Chairperson of the Veterinary Surgeons Board of Hong Kong (VSB), as well as the appointment of four new members and the reappointment of eight incumbent members, for a term of three years with effect from October 1, 2023.

Professor Ng is the Vice-President of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) (Guangzhou), Dean of the Fok Ying Tung Graduate School, HKUST and Chair Professor of Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, HKUST. Professor Ng has rich experience in government advisory board and community service. He has previously served on the Geotechnical Engineers Registration Committee, Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal Panel, Appeal Tribunal Panel (Buildings), etc.

The Secretary for Environment and Ecology, Mr Tse Chin-wan, thanked Professor Ng for accepting the appointment. He said he is confident that Professor Ng will continue to uphold high veterinary standards in Hong Kong and lead the VSB to scale new heights. He also welcomed the four newly appointed members: Professor Vanessa Rosemary Duke Barrs, Dr Bronte Stuart Forbes, Dr Wilson Li and Dr Owen Swan, and the eight reappointed members: Ms Fiona Chin Chun-yee, Mr Howard Chuk Hau-chung, Dr Jennifer Go Le-lin, Dr Anthony Kwok Wai-leung, Dr Hilary Lam Ho-yan, Mr John Lau Hon-kit, Dr Angela Ng Lai-ping and Dr Esther To Man-wai.

Mr Tse expressed his gratitude to the outgoing Chairperson, Professor Ching Pak-chung, for his distinguished leadership and immense contribution during his 10 years of service on the VSB. Mr Tse commended Professor Ching for his drive and passion, especially in the transition to a newly constituted Board with new membership structure in 2020 after the smooth conduct of the VSB's first ordinary election of elected members.

Mr Tse also thanked the three outgoing members, Dr Tint Naing, Dr Brian David Stewart and Dr Henry Yeung Chiu-fat, for their dedicated service and valuable contribution to the VSB during their terms of appointment.

Enacted in 1997, the Veterinary Surgeons Registration Ordinance (Cap. 529) provides for the establishment of the VSB, which is responsible for the regulation of the practice of veterinary surgery, the registration of veterinary surgeons, and the disciplinary control of the professional activities of registered veterinary surgeons in Hong Kong.

The Ordinance specifies that six of the seats of the VSB are to be filled by registered veterinary surgeons elected by members of the profession. In accordance with the Veterinary Surgeons Board (Election of Members) Regulation (Cap. 529B), the VSB conducted its second ordinary election for the elected members in 2023. The election was concluded in May and four candidates were returned uncontested, namely Dr Carmen Chui Lap-man, Dr Paul George Essey, Dr Patricia Shuen Yi-man and Dr Joshua Perry Steinhaus. As with appointed members, these elected members shall hold office for a term of three years with effect from October 1, 2023. To fill the remaining two vacancies, the VSB will hold a by-election in early 2024.

The membership list of the VSB with effect from October 1, 2023, is as follows:

Chairperson

Professor Charles Ng Wang-wai

Appointed members

Professor Vanessa Rosemary Duke Barrs Ms Fiona Chin Chun-yee Mr Howard Chuk Hau-chung Dr Bronte Stuart Forbes Dr Jennifer Go Le-lin Dr Anthony Kwok Wai-leung Dr Hilary Lam Ho-yan Mr John Lau Hon-kit Dr Wilson Li Dr Angela Ng Lai-ping Dr Owen Swan Dr Esther To Man-wai

Elected members

Dr Carmen Chui Lap-man Dr Paul George Essey Dr Patricia Shuen Yi-man Dr Joshua Perry Steinhaus