<u>Appointments of Chairman and members</u> <u>to Consumer Council announced</u>

The Government announced today (December 7) the appointment of Mr Paul Lam Ting-kwok, SC, as Chairman of the Consumer Council for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2019.

Mr Lam will succeed Professor Wong Yuk-shan, who will be retiring from the Consumer Council having served as Chairman for six years.

"With his rich experience in and strong commitment to public service, we are confident that Mr Lam will provide able leadership to the Council in continuing to promote consumer interests in Hong Kong," a Government spokesman said.

"We are most grateful to Professor Wong for his distinguished contribution to the Consumer Council over the years. His dedication and leadership have been invaluable to the work of the Council in safeguarding consumer rights," the spokesman added.

The Government also announced the appointments of Mr Edward Ho Man-tat, Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung, Mr Matthew Lam Kin-hong, Mr Alan Lui Siu-lun, Dr Lui Wing-cheong and Miss Iris Wan Lai-sze as well as the re-appointments of Mr Ambrose Lam San-keung, Mr Kevin Lam Sze-cay and Mr Kent Wong Siu-kee as members of the Consumer Council for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2019.

Ms Grace Chan Man-yee, Ms Jo Jo Chan Shuk-fong, Dr Raymond Leung Siuhong, Mr Keith Lie Kin-fu, Dr Karen Shum Hau-yan and Professor Wong Kam-fai will retire from the Council after completion of their terms on December 31, 2018.

"We are delighted that three incumbent members and six new members have accepted their appointment. We would also like to express our gratitude to the six retiring members for their contributions to various aspects of the Council's work," the spokesman said.

The composition of the Council with effect from January 1, 2019 is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Paul Lam Ting-kwok, SC

Vice-Chairman

Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan

Members

Ms Linda Chan Ching-fan, SC

Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing

Dr Wilton Fok Wai-tung

Ms Amy Fung Dun-mi

Mr Steven Ho Chun-yin

Mr Edward Ho Man-tat

Mr Marvin Hsu Tsun-fai

Mr Antonio Kwong Cho-shing

Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung

Mr Matthew Lam Kin-hong

Mr Ambrose Lam San-keung

Mr Kevin Lam Sze-cay

Ms Vanessa Lau Chi-wan

Ms Kitty Lee Wing-lan

Mr Alan Lui Siu-lun

Dr Lui Wing-cheong

Mr Siu King-wai

Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee

Mr Kent Wong Siu-kee

Miss Iris Wan Lai-sze