<u>Appointment to Mandatory Provident</u> <u>Fund Schemes Authority</u>

The Government announced today (September 28) that the Financial Secretary, in exercise of the authority under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance (MPFSO) delegated to him by the Chief Executive, has appointed Ms Yvonne Cheng Wai-sum, SC, as a Non-executive Director of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA).

The appointment will take effect from October 1, 2018 for a term of two years to September 30, 2020, both dates inclusive.

Announcing the appointment, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Lau, said, "Ms Cheng is a well-respected member in the legal field. In addition to her passion for the law, Ms Cheng has demonstrated an enthusiasm for public services. We welcome Ms Cheng to the MPFA and believe she will contribute greatly to the work of the Authority."

Ms Cheng is a Senior Counsel. Her practice spans a broad range of areas of civil and commercial law. In addition to her service as a Recorder of the Court of First Instance of the High Court, she is also a member in a number of statutory advisory boards and committees, including the Financial Reporting Review Panel and the Securities and Futures Appeal Tribunal.

Mr Lau also thanked the outgoing non-executive director, Mr Horace Wong Yuk-lun, SC, for his valuable advice to the MPFA during his term.

The MPFA is a statutory body established in September 1998 under the MPFSO for the regulation and supervision of the Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) System. The MPF System commenced operation in December 2000, covering more than 2.8 million scheme members with a total net asset value of more than \$860 billion as at end July 2018.

Following is the membership of the MPFA with effect from October 1, 2018:

Chairman

Dr David Wong Yau-kar

Deputy Chairlady

Ms Alice Law Shing-Mui

Non-Executive Directors

Mr Chan Kam-lam

Ms Yvonne Cheng Wai-Sum Dr Bankee Kwan Pak-hoo Mrs Ayesha Macpherson Lau Mr Poon Siu-ping Mr Abraham Shek Lai-him Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung Mr Kingsley Wong Kwok

Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services) as alternate)

Secretary for Labour and Welfare (Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare as alternate)

Executive Directors

Mr Cheng Yan-chee

Ms Cynthia Hui Wai-yee

Ms Gabriella Yee Gar-bo