Appointment to Law Reform Commission

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (August 31) announced that Mr Justice Johnson Lam Man-hon has been appointed by the Chief Executive as a new member of the LRC for three years with effect from September 1, 2021.

Mr Justice Lam is currently a permanent judge of the Court of Final Appeal of Hong Kong. He has abundant experience in civil law reform, public law and constitutional law. The LRC believes that Mr Justice Lam's broad expertise in civil cases will further add to the diversity of experience in the LRC.

The Secretary for Justice, Ms Teresa Cheng, SC, who is also the Chairman of the LRC, expressed her heartfelt thanks to Mr Justice Lam for devoting his time to the LRC.

With this latest appointment, the LRC will comprise the following members:

Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio member)
Law Draftsman (ex-officio member)
Mr Justice Johnson Lam Man-hon
Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi, SC
Ms May Chan Suk-mei
Professor Tan Cheng-han
Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff
Professor Fu Hualing
Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun
Mrs Janice Choi Kwan Wing-kum
Mr Chan Chak-ming
Mrs Margaret Leung Ko May-yee