## <u>Appointment of self-recommended young</u> <u>members to Advisory Committee on</u> <u>Countryside Conservation</u>

The Government today (November 23) announced the appointment of two new young members, Mr Lok Ka-ming and Ms Sze Ka-yan, to the Advisory Committee on Countryside Conservation (ACCC) through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth from December 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023, i.e. the same end date of the current term of existing members.

To support sustainable and holistic conservation efforts in Hong Kong's remote rural countryside, the ACCC was established on July 1, 2019, to advise on the priorities for conservation and revitalisation works proposals to be carried out by the Countryside Conservation Office and the policy and operational matters relating to the Countryside Conservation Funding Scheme, as well as to promote ecological conservation and revitalisation of architectural and cultural heritage.

The membership of the ACCC is as follows:

Chairperson

Secretary for the Environment

Non-official Members

Ms Carmen Chan Ka-mun Mr Chan Ka-chun Professor Leslie Chen Hung-chi Ms Sylvia Chung Wai-man Ms Amelia Fok Ching-yin Professor Lam Kin-che Mr Andrew Lam Siu-lo Mr Eric Lee Chung-ming Mr Lok Ka-ming\* Ms Sze Ka-yan\* Professor Joseph Ting Sun-pao Dr Yau Wing-kwong

Ex-officio Members

Permanent Secretary for the Environment/Director of Environmental Protection Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation

Secretary

Chief Executive Officer (Countryside Conservation), Environmental Protection

Department

 $\ast$  Newly appointed as members through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth