<u>Appointment of Non-Official Members to</u> <u>ICAC-Related Committees</u>

The Government announced today (December 20) that the Chief Executive has made appointments and reappointments to the four Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) advisory committees, namely the Advisory Committee on Corruption (ACOC), the Operations Review Committee (ORC), the Corruption Prevention Advisory Committee (CPAC) and the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations (CACCR), and to the ICAC Complaints Committee (ICC). All of the appointments and reappointments are for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2025.

AC0C

Mr Chan Kin-por has been newly appointed by the Chief Executive as the Chairman of the ACOC, while Mr Siu Chor-kee has been appointed as a new member of the ACOC. Legislative Council (LegCo) Members Dr Lo Wai-kwok and Mr Chan Yung, and Miss Au King-chi, have been reappointed as members of the ACOC.

Mr Chan is currently serving on the Executive Council and the LegCo. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited.

Mr Siu is the Managing Director of a catering company. He is also a member of the Fight Crime Committee.

The ACOC advises the Commissioner of ICAC on any aspects of the problem of corruption in Hong Kong, and keeps the operational, staffing and administrative policies of the ICAC under review.

0RC

The Chief Executive has reappointed LegCo Member Ms Carmen Kan Wai-mun, Professor David Hui Shu-cheong, Mr Johnson Kong Chi-how, Professor Li Pangkwong, Ms Melissa Kaye Pang and Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan to the Committee as members. Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee and Mr Robert David Dorfman have been newly appointed to the Committee as members.

Ms Au is the founder of an investment company. She is also the Chairman of the Police Children's Education Trust Investment Advisory Board and the Police Education and Welfare Trust Investment Advisory Board, and a member of the Constitution and Basic Law Promotion Steering Committee.

Mr Robert Dorfman is the Chairman of a manufacturing company.

The ORC oversees all ICAC investigations. It reviews corruption complaints received and investigations conducted by the ICAC to ensure that they are handled effectively and efficiently. It also examines circumstances where search warrants are authorised by the Commissioner, where persons have been put on bail for more than six months, and where investigations have been lasting for over a year or require substantial resources.

CPAC

The Chief Executive has reappointed LegCo Member Ms Doreen Kong Yukfoon, Miss Mabel Chan Mei-bo, Mr Stephen Chan Man, Mr William Junior Guilherme Doo, Ms Amelia Fok Ching-yin, Mr Jonathan Lee Man-kwong and Mr Hendrick Sin to the Committee as members. Ms Cindi Hui Ming-ming has been appointed as a new member of the Committee.

Ms Hui a partner of a law firm. She is also a member of the Appeal Panel (Housing), the Independent Police Complaints Council and the Insurance Appeals Tribunal.

The CPAC receives and calls for reports from the ICAC about practices and procedures of government departments, public bodies and the private sector that may be conducive to corruption. It also advises the Commissioner on what areas should be examined and the degree of priority to be accorded to each.

CACCR

The Chief Executive has reappointed Ms Amy Chan Lim-chee, Ms May Chan Suk-mei, Dr Albert Chau Wai-lap, Dr Bobby Liu Kam-hing and Mr Andy Wan Ka-kit as members of the CACCR. Ms Gloria Mak Sze-man, Ms Kelly Tsim Ka-lee, Mr Kazaf Tam Chun-kwok, Mr Armstrong Lee Hon-cheung and Mr Bosco Law Ching-kit have been appointed as new members of the Committee.

Ms Mak is a TV programme host and a professional emcee.

Ms Tsim is a director of a manufacturing company. She is also a member of the Committee on Community Support for Rehabilitated Offenders.

Mr Tam is the executive director of an investment company. He is also a member of the North District Council.

Mr Lee is the managing director of a human resources consulting company. He is also a member of the Tai Po District Council, the Council of the Education University of Hong Kong and the Lump Sum Grant Steering Committee.

Mr Law is the Deputy Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of an apparel manufacturer. He is also a member of the Clothing Industry Training Authority and the Council of the Hong Kong Metropolitan University.

The CACCR advises the Commissioner on appropriate measures to foster public support for combating corruption and to educate the public about the evils of corruption. It also monitors community responses to the ICAC's work and public attitudes towards corruption in general. The Chief Executive has reappointed Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen as a member of the ICC. Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung has been appointed as a new member of the ICC.

Mr Tsai is a partner emeritus of an accounting firm. He is also the Chairman of the Supplementary Medical Professions Council and a member of the Hospital Authority and the University Grants Committee.

The ICC monitors the handling of non-criminal complaints against the ICAC, reviews the ICAC procedures and practices that may lead to complaints, and makes recommendations when necessary.

The Government expresses its gratitude to all outgoing members of the above-mentioned committees, who are retiring on December 31, 2024. Their valuable contributions to the work of the respective committees are greatly appreciated.

The updated non-official membership lists of the four ICAC advisory committees and the ICC are in the Annex.