<u>Appointment of Non-Official Members to</u> ICAC-Related Committees

The Government announced today (December 29) that the Chief Executive has made appointments and reappointments to the four Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) advisory committees, namely the Advisory Committee on Corruption (ACOC), the Operations Review Committee (ORC), the Corruption Prevention Advisory Committee (CPAC) and the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations (CACCR), and to the ICAC Complaints Committee (ICC). All of the appointments and reappointments are for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2024.

AC₀C

The Chief Executive has reappointed Mr Bernard Charnwut Chan (in his capacity as the Chairman of the ORC), Professor Simon Ho Shun-man (in his capacity as the Chairman of the CACCR), Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung and Ms Cecilia Lee Sau-wai as members of the ACOC. The Chief Executive has also appointed Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau (in his capacity as the Chairman of CPAC) as a new member to the ACOC.

Dr Wong is an Executive Director and Deputy Managing Director of a port operator. He is currently the Chairman of the Accounting and Financial Reporting Council.

The ACOC advises the Commissioner of ICAC on any aspects of the problem of corruption in Hong Kong, and keeps the operational, staffing and administrative policies of the ICAC under review.

0RC

The Chief Executive has reappointed Mr Bernard Charnwut Chan as the Chairman of the ORC. Dr Aron Hari Harilela, Ms Clara Chan Yuen-shan and Mr Felix Li Kwok-hing have been reappointed to the Committee as members. Ms Vivien Lau Man-yee has been newly appointed to the Committee as a member.

Ms Lau is the Chief Executive of an airport services company. She is a member of the Hong Kong Productivity Council.

The ORC oversees all ICAC investigations. It reviews corruption complaints received and investigations conducted by the ICAC to ensure that they are handled effectively and efficiently. It also examines circumstances where search warrants are authorised by the Commissioner, where persons have been put on bail for more than six months, and where investigations have been lasting for over a year or require substantial resources.

CPAC

The Chief Executive has appointed Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau as the new

Chairman of the CPAC. Mr Albert Su Yau-on and Ms Carrie Lau Ka-wai have been reappointed to the Committee as members. Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai has been appointed as a new member of the Committee.

Mr Mok was a principal of a secondary school. He is a member of the Action Committee Against Narcotics, the Constitution and Basic Law Promotion Steering Committee and the Fight Crime Committee.

The CPAC receives and calls for reports from the ICAC about practices and procedures of government departments, public bodies and the private sector which may be conducive to corruption. It also advises the Commissioner on what areas should be examined and the degree of priority to be accorded to each.

CACCR

The Chief Executive has reappointed Professor Simon Ho Shun-man as the Chairman of the CACCR. Miss Pinky Lau Pik-yiu, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Dr James Wong Kong-tin and Miss Jenny Yung Ching-yi have been reappointed as members of the CACCR. Ms Cally Kwong Mei-wan has been appointed as a new member of the Committee.

Ms Kwong is the founder of a jewellery company. She is a member of the Correctional Services Department Complaints Appeal Board.

The CACCR advises the Commissioner on appropriate measures to foster public support in combating corruption and to educate the public against the evils of corruption. It also monitors community response to the ICAC's work and public attitudes towards corruption in general.

ICC

The Chief Executive has reappointed Executive Council member Dr Lam Ching-choi as the Chairman of the ICC. Legislative Council Members Mr Steven Ho Chun-yin and Ms Eunice Yung Hoi-yan, as well as Ms Connie Lau Yin-hing and Mr Lau Chun-hung, have been reappointed as members of the ICC. Miss Grace Chan man-yee has been appointed as a new member of the ICC.

Miss Chan is the Business Director of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service. She is the Vice-chairperson of the Innovation and Technology Fund General Support Programme Vetting Committee and a member of the Elderly Commission and the Process Review Panel for the Insurance Authority.

The ICC monitors the handling of non-criminal complaints against the ICAC, reviews the ICAC procedures and practices which may lead to complaints, and makes recommendations when necessary.

The Government expresses its gratitude to all outgoing members of the above-mentioned committees, who are retiring on December 31, 2023. Their valuable contributions to the work of the respective committees are greatly appreciated.

The updated non-official membership lists of the four ICAC advisory committees and the ICC are in the ${\sf Annex}\,.$