# <u>Appointment of Non-official Members to</u> ICAC-Related Committees

The Government announced today (December 24) that the Chief Executive has made appointments and re-appointments to the four Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) advisory committees, namely the Advisory Committee on Corruption (ACOC), the Operations Review Committee (ORC), the Corruption Prevention Advisory Committee (CPAC) and the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations (CACCR). All of the appointments and re-appointments are for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2022.

### AC<sub>0</sub>C

The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Adrian Wong Koon-man (in his capacity as the Chairman of the CPAC) as a member of the ACOC. The Chief Executive has also appointed Mr Paul Lam Ting-kwok (in his capacity as the Chairman of the ORC), Professor Simon Ho Shun-man (in his capacity as the Chairman of the CACCR), Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung and Ms Cecilia Lee Sau-wai as new members to the ACOC.

Mr Paul Lam Ting-kwok is a Senior Counsel. He is currently the Chairman of the Administrative Appeals Board as well as the Consumer Council.

Professor Simon Ho Shun-man is the President of the Hang Seng University of Hong Kong. He was a member of the Deposit Protection Appeals Tribunal and the Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal.

Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung is the General Manager of a local company. He is a member of the Consumer Council and Trade and Industry Advisory Board.

Ms Cecilia Lee Sau-wai is a Partner of an international accounting firm. She is a member of the Standing Committee on Judicial Salaries and Conditions of Service and the Standing Committee on Language Education and Research.

The ACOC advises the Commissioner of ICAC on any aspects of the problem of corruption in Hong Kong, and keeps the operational, staffing and administrative policies of the ICAC under review.

#### **ORC**

The Chief Executive has appointed Mr Paul Lam Ting-kwok as the new Chairman of the ORC. Dr Emily Chan Po-shan and Dr Aron Hari Harilela have been re-appointed as members of the ORC. Ms Clara Chan Yuen-shan and Mr Felix Li Kwok-hing have been newly appointed to the Committee as members.

Ms Clara Chan Yuen-shan is the Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of a holding company. She is a member of the Hong Kong Housing Authority and the Hong Kong Productivity Council.

Mr Felix Li Kwok-hing is the Director of an architectural company. He is the immediate past President of the Hong Kong Institute of Architects.

The ORC oversees all ICAC investigations. It reviews corruption complaints received and investigations conducted by the ICAC to ensure that they are handled effectively and efficiently. It also examines circumstances where search warrants are authorised by the Commissioner, where persons have been put on bail for more than six months, and where investigations have been lasting for over a year or require substantial resources.

# CPAC

The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Adrian Wong Koon-man as the Chairman of the CPAC. Professor Emily Chan Ying-yang and Mr Albert Su Yau-on have been re-appointed to the Committee as members. Ms Carrie Lau Ka-wai has been appointed as a new member of the Committee.

Ms Carrie Lau Ka-wai is the General Manager (Strategic Procurement) of a company. She was the Chairlady of the Chartered Institute of Procurement and Supply (Hong Kong Branch), and is currently the Chairlady of its Professional Development Committee.

The CPAC receives and calls for reports from the ICAC about practices and procedures of government departments, public bodies and the private sector which may be conducive to corruption. It also advises the Commissioner on what areas should be examined and the degree of priority to be accorded to each.

## CACCR

The Chief Executive has appointed Professor Simon Ho Shun-man as the new Chairman of the CACCR. Ms Gigi Wong Ching-chi has been re-appointed as a member of the Committee. Miss Pinky Lau Pik-yiu, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Dr James Wong Kong-tin and Miss Jenny Yung Ching-yi have been appointed as new members of the Committee.

Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho is the Vice-President and Lam Man Tsan Chair Professor of Comparative Policy of Lingnan University. He is a member of the Research Grants Council.

Dr James Wong Kong-tin is the Vice Chairman of the Greater China Legal Affairs Committee and Community Relations Committee of the Law Society of Hong Kong. He is the Chairman of the Liquor Licensing Board.

Miss Pinky Lau Pik-yiu is a trainee solicitor. Miss Jenny Yung Ching-yi is a KYC (Know Your Client) Analyst of an investment bank. Both Miss Lau and Miss Yung are appointed to the CACCR through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth.

The CACCR advises the Commissioner on appropriate measures to foster

public support in combatting corruption and to educate the public against the evils of corruption. It also monitors community response to the ICAC's work and public attitudes towards corruption in general.

The Government expresses its gratitude to all outgoing members of the above-mentioned committees, who are retiring on December 31, 2021. Their valuable contributions to the work of the respective committees are greatly appreciated.

The updated non-official membership lists of the four ICAC advisory committees are at Annex.