<u>Appointment of Non-official Members to</u> <u>ICAC-Related Committees</u>

The Government announced today (December 24) that the Chief Executive has made appointments and re-appointments to the four Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) advisory committees, namely the Advisory Committee on Corruption (ACOC), the Operations Review Committee (ORC), the Corruption Prevention Advisory Committee (CPAC) and the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations (CACCR), and to the ICAC Complaints Committee (ICC). All of the appointments and re-appointments are for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2021.

AC0C

The Chief Executive has re-appointed Executive Council Member the Hon Martin Liao Cheung-kong as the Chairman of the ACOC. Legislative Council (LegCo) Members the Hon Chan Hak-kan and the Hon Abraham Shek Lai-him as well as Ms Irene Chow Man-ling have been re-appointed to the ACOC as members. The Chief Executive has also appointed Ms Au King-chi as a new member to the ACOC.

Ms Au King-chi is a retired senior civil servant. She is currently a member of the Executive Committee of Youth Outreach.

The ACOC advises the Commissioner of the ICAC on any aspects of the problem of corruption in Hong Kong, and keeps the operational, staffing and administrative policies of the ICAC under review.

0RC

The Chief Executive has re-appointed LegCo Member the Hon Ronick Chan Chun-ying, Mr Paul Lam Ting-kwok, Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau and Ms Nicole Yuen Shuk-kam as members of the ORC. Professor David Hui Shu-cheong, Mr Johnson Kong Chi-how, Mr Richard Kendall Lancaster, Professor Li Pang-kwong and Ms Melissa Kaye Pang have been newly appointed to the ORC as members.

Professor David Hui Shu-cheong is the Director of the Stanley Ho Centre for Emerging Infectious Diseases of the Faculty of Medicine of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He also serves on the Board of Scientific Advisors.

Mr Johnson Kong Chi-how is an accountant by profession. He is the Immediate Past President of the Council of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Mr Richard Kendall Lancaster is the Chief Executive Officer of a local utilities company. He is also currently the Chairman of the Business Environment Council. Professor Li Pang-kwong is a Professor of Practice in the Department of Political Science and concurrently the founding Director of the Public Governance Programme at Lingnan University.

Ms Melissa Kaye Pang, a solicitor by profession, is currently the President of the Law Society of Hong Kong. She is also the Chairperson of the Committee on the Promotion of Civic Education.

The ORC oversees all ICAC investigations. It reviews corruption complaints received and investigations conducted by the ICAC to ensure that they are handled effectively and efficiently. It also examines circumstances where search warrants are authorised by the Commissioner, where persons have been put on bail for more than six months, and where investigations have been lasting for over a year or require substantial resources.

CPAC

The Chief Executive has re-appointed Ms Kuby Chan Yin-hung, Mr Sunny Cheung Yiu-tong, Mr Alex Chu Wing-yiu, Dr Stephen Lai Yuk-fai, Mr Winson Woo Lap-kee and Miss Theresa Yeung Wing-shan as members of the CPAC. Miss Mabel Chan Mei-bo and Ms Doreen Kong Yuk-foon have been newly appointed to the Committee as members.

Miss Mabel Chan Mei-bo is the sole proprietor of an accounting firm. She is serving on a number of boards and committees, including the Air Transport Licensing Authority and the Business Facilitation Advisory Committee.

Ms Doreen Kong Yuk-foon is a solicitor by profession and is now a Council Member of the Law Society of Hong Kong.

The CPAC receives and calls for reports from the ICAC about practices and procedures of government departments, public bodies and the private sector which may be conducive to corruption. It also advises the Commissioner on what areas should be examined and the degree of priority to be accorded to each.

CACCR

The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting, Ms Chan Yuenling, Professor Anthony Fung Ying-him, Mr Eddy Hui Shun, Mr Chris Ip Ngotung, Mr James Mok Hon-fai, Mr Webster Ng Kam-wah, Mr Victor Pang Wing-seng, Dr Rocky Tung Yat-ngok and Mr Wong Wai-kit to the CACCR as members. A new member appointed to the Committee is Mr Chu Tsz-wing.

Mr Chu Tsz-wing is the Chief Headmaster of St Hilary's Primary School and VNSAA St Hilary's School.

The CACCR advises the Commissioner on appropriate measures to foster public support in combating corruption and to educate the public against the evils of corruption. It also monitors the community response to the ICAC's work and public attitudes towards corruption in general. The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Stephen Yiu Kin-wah as a member of the ICC, while Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen is a new member appointed to the Committee.

Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen is a Senior Counsel. He is currently the Chairman of the Financial Services Development Council.

The ICC monitors the handling of non-criminal complaints against the ICAC, reviews the ICAC procedures and practices which may lead to complaints, and makes recommendations when necessary.

The Government expresses its gratitude to all outgoing members of the above-mentioned committees, who are retiring on December 31, 2020. Their valuable contributions to the work of the respective committees are greatly appreciated.

The updated non-official membership lists of the four ICAC advisory committees and the ICC are in the Annex.