<u>Appointment of new Vice-chairmen and</u> <u>members to Independent Police</u> <u>Complaints Council</u>

The Government today (December 30) announced the re-appointment of a Vice-chairman and 10 members, and the new appointment of two Vice-chairmen and three members, to the Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2021.

Mr Frankie Yick Chi-ming has been re-appointed as Vice-chairman, and Mr Jimmy Ng Wing-ka and Mr Chan Chun-ying have been newly appointed as Vicechairmen. The re-appointed members are Ms Au Chor-kwan, Mr Alex Chu Wing-yiu, Mr Douglas Lam Tak-yip, SC, Miss Sylvia Lee Hiu-wah, Dr David Lee Ka-yan, Ms Melissa Kaye Pang, Professor Wong Chi-sang, Mr Johnny Yu Wah-yung, Mr Lee Man-bun and Ms Jane Curzon Lo. The newly appointed members are Miss Mabel Chan Mei-bo, Dr Daniel Chan Ching-yan and Mr Randy Yu Hon-kwan.

â€<The appointments are made by the Chief Executive according to section 5 of the IPCC Ordinance (Cap. 604).

The Secretary for Security, Mr John Lee, said, "In the face of different opinions, challenges and increasing public expectations from the society, the Government is most grateful for the invaluable contribution of the IPCC in safeguarding a fair, effective and transparent two-tier police complaints system in Hong Kong. I would also like to thank the Vice-chairmen Mr Christopher Cheung Wah-fung and Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen, and members Dr Cheng Kam-chung, Mr Richard Ho Kam-wing, Mr Herman Hui Chung-shing, Mr Edgar Kwan Chi-ping and Ms Shalini Sujanani, who will leave the IPCC by the end of their term on December 31, 2020. During their tenure, they have actively led and participated in the work of the IPCC and assisted the IPCC in performing its independent monitoring functions with a view to ensuring that complaints from the public were handled fairly and impartially."

Mr Lee said that the Government would continue to give full support to the IPCC in discharging its statutory monitoring functions and uphold a fair and impartial police complaints system.

The IPCC, established under the IPCC Ordinance, is an independent statutory body responsible for monitoring and reviewing the investigation of complaints against members of the Police Force. The IPCC Ordinance provides a statutory basis for the IPCC's role and power and the two-tier police complaints system. It also imposes a statutory duty on the Police to comply with the IPCC's requirements. The IPCC comprises a Chairman, three Vicechairmen and 22 non-official members.