<u>Appointment of members of Equal</u> Opportunities Commission

The Government announced today (April 30) that the Chief Executive has appointed five new members and re-appointed nine incumbent members to the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) for a term of two years with effect from May 20, 2021.

The newly appointed members are:

Ms Chan Lai-kwan Ms Choi Yi-tak Dr Theresa Cunanan Ms Linda Tsang Chi-man Miss Yim Chor-pik

The re-appointed members are:

Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan Mr Vincent Cheng Wing-shun Professor Andy Chiu Man-chung Mr Mohan Datwani Miss Maisy Ho Chiu-ha Dr Henry Shie Wai-hung Ms Anna Thompson Dr Rizwan Ullah Mr Gary Wong Chi-him

"We are grateful for the contribution of all incumbent members to the work of the EOC in the past two years. They have displayed enthusiasm and commitment in assisting the promotion of equal opportunities. They have also provided valuable input to the various areas of work of the EOC," said the Government spokesperson.

"The membership of the EOC continues to represent a balanced mix of expertise and sectors, including women; persons with disabilities; ethnic minorities; members from the employment, social services, legal, accounting, academic and education sectors; and the community at large. Their experience and expertise will be instrumental to the work of the EOC in promoting equal opportunities.

"We would like to take the opportunity to thank Professor Susanne Choi Yuk-ping, Ms Elizabeth Law, Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan, Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo and Miss Yu Chui-yee, who will be stepping down from the EOC after six years of service. We are grateful for their staunch support for the work of the Commission.

"We look forward to the continuous concerted efforts of the Chairperson of the EOC and all its members in implementing the existing anti-

discrimination ordinances and constructing a pluralistic and inclusive society in Hong Kong," the spokesperson added.