<u>Appointment of members of Equal</u> Opportunities Commission

The Government announced today (April 26) that the Chief Executive has appointed three new members and re-appointed 11 incumbent members to the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) for a term of two years with effect from May 20, 2019.

The newly appointed members are:

Mr Vincent Cheng Wing-shun Ms Anna Thompson Mr Gary Wong Chi-him

The re-appointed members are:

Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan
Professor Andy Chiu Man-chung
Professor Susanne Choi Yuk-ping
Mr Mohan Datwani
Miss Maisy Ho Chiu-ha
Ms Elizabeth Law
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo
Dr Henry Shie Wai-hung
Dr Rizwan Ullah
Miss Yu Chui-yee

"We are grateful for the contribution of all incumbent members to the work of the EOC in the past two years. They have displayed enthusiasm and commitment in assisting the promotion of equal opportunities. They have also provided valuable input to the various areas of work of the EOC," said the government spokesperson.

"The membership of the EOC continues to represent a balanced mix of expertise and sectors, including women, persons with disabilities, ethnic minorities, members from the employment, social services, legal, accounting, academic and education sectors, and the community at large. Their experience and expertise will be instrumental to the work of the EOC in promoting equal opportunities.

"We would like to take the opportunity to thank Mr Holden Chow Ho-ding, Dr Trisha Leahy and Professor Joseph Lee Kok-long, who will be stepping down from the EOC after six years of service. We are grateful for their staunch support for the work of the Commission.

"We look forward to effective collaboration of all EOC members under the leadership of the newly appointed Chairperson, Mr Ricky Chu Man-kin, to take new strides in implementing the four existing anti-discrimination ordinances

through the promotion of equal opportunities and elimination of discrimination in the community," the spokesperson added.

Brief background information on the newly appointed members is at Annex.