Alan Lovell announced as preferred Environment Agency Chair candidate

News story

The Environment Secretary has selected Alan Lovell DL as the Government's preferred candidate for Chair of the Environment Agency.



Environment Secretary George Eustice has selected Alan Lovell DL as the Government's preferred candidate to succeed Emma Howard Boyd as the Chair of the Environment Agency.

Mr Lovell's selection followed a rigorous process conducted in accordance with the Ministerial Governance Code on Public Appointments. The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (EFRA) Select Committee and the Environmental Audit Committee (EAC) will now hold a joint pre-appointment hearing on Tuesday 5 July and report on Mr Lovell's suitability for the post.

Pre-appointment scrutiny is an important part of the appointment process for some of the most significant public appointments made by Ministers to verify that the recruitment meets the principles set out in the Governance Code on Public Appointments.

Pre-appointment hearings are held in public and allow a Select Committee to take evidence from a Minister's preferred candidate before they are appointed. The EFRA and EAC Select Committees will publish a report setting out their views on the candidate's suitability for the post, which will be considered by Ministers before deciding whether to proceed with the appointment.

Subject to the EFRA and EAC Select Committees' report and the final decision being made by the Environment Secretary, Mr Lovell will take up the post in September 2022. Emma Howard Boyd CBE second term as Environment Agency Chair will end in September 2022.

Biographical details of Alan Lovell

- Alan is an experienced Chair of both commercial and not-for-profit enterprises. He is currently Chairman of the Interserve Group Ltd, and is Senior Independent Director of SIG plc and Chair of Safestyle UK plc.
- His executive career included time as a Chief Executive of six companies, including Infinis, Jarvis, Costain and Dunlop Slazenger.
- Alan was also Chair of the Consumer Council for Water for four years and has chaired the University of Winchester and the Mary Rose Trust.

Published 28 June 2022