ACAN Chairman and members appointed

The Government announced today (December 27) that the Chief Executive has reappointed Dr Donald Li Kwok-tung as the Chairman of the Action Committee Against Narcotics (ACAN) and appointed Dr Chan Fu, Dr Sylvia Chan May-kuen, Mr Ho Wing-cheong, Dr Sandy Lau Sin-ting, Mr Quincy Lui Kwan-yiu and Dr Ryan Wong Man-yeung as new members. Fourteen members have also been reappointed.

The term for all new members and reappointed members is two years from January 1, 2025, to December 31, 2026.

A spokesman for the Narcotics Division of the Security Bureau said, "The new members come from different sectors including the social services, education, medical and business sectors. With their wealth of experience and expertise, they will bring new momentum to the work of ACAN. Moreover, we are pleased to reappoint fourteen members who are enthusiastic about anti-drug work. The Narcotics Division of the Security Bureau is looking forward to working together with ACAN in the coming two years, especially on a series of events in commemoration of the 60th anniversary of ACAN with a view to consolidating anti-drug awareness in the community."

Among the new members, Dr Chan Fu is from the medical and education sectors; Dr Sylvia Chan May-kuen is from the school education sector; Mr Ho Wing-cheong and Dr Sandy Lau Sin-ting are senior management officers of nongovernmental organisations; and Mr Quincy Lui Kwan-yiu and Dr Ryan Wong Manyeung are company directors.

The spokesman also extended his gratitude to the eight outgoing members for their contributions to the work of ACAN. They are Dr Lam Ho-yi, Dr Lee Tin-yan, Mr Clifford Leung Siu-on, Ms Li Ka-yan, Professor Ng Chi-fai, Mr Poon Hing-fai, Mr Albert Su Yau-on and Professor Tang Wai-kwong.

ACAN is the Government's advisory body on anti-drug matters. It was established in 1965. The membership list of the new term of ACAN is as follows:

Chairman

Dr Donald Li Kwok-tung

Members

Dr Chan Fu Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung Dr Sylvia Chan May-kuen Professor James Chan Yuk-kit Ms Vera Ho Ivy Yuen-wei Mr Ho Wing-cheong Mr Rex Ip Yik-nam Mr Lau Chun-hung Dr Sandy Lau Sin-ting Ms Anthea Lee Shuk-wai Ms Agnes Leung Yuk-kuen Ms Nicole Li Yuen-ting Ms Helen Lu Hai Mr Quincy Lui Kwan-yiu Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai Mr Wilfred Ng Sau-kei Dr Rizwan Ullah Dr Ryan Wong Man-yeung Mr Benny Wong Wai-yue Director, Central Narcotics Bureau of Singapore Secretary for Education or her representative Commissioner of Police or his representative Commissioner of Customs and Excise or her representative Director of Health or his representative Director of Social Welfare or her representative Commissioner for Narcotics